The Liberator

The Liberator

The Liberator

Here is my origami model of the Liberator from Blake’s 7. I’ve worked on it for a year or so, on and off, and it’s finally ready to be released to the world.

The model is moderately complex, and should be folded with at least an A3 square of two-colour foil paper. White and green, if you can get it.

liberator

Liberator pg 2liberator 3b

While researching ideas and setting out, I folded Jeremy Schafer’s Familiar Spaceship, which taught me the triangular box-pleat. I know I also folded some Star Wars ships from triangular paper, but ultimately went with square sheets instead.

This is version 1 – I hope to make some tweaks in future. The biggest problem is the length of the three “barrels” – in the original, they extend both backwards and forwards from the strut, but in mine they only go forwards. One possible solution is – again – doing something like the Familiar Spaceship’s twin engines. Somehow, I need an extra slab of paper already folded in once I get to the barrel stage. For now, please enjoy folding.

